What Your Escape-Room Outing Will Really Cost

Start with $25–$40 per person for a standard room, then account for party size and booking rules that can move the actual total substantially.
How much are escape rooms? Costs vary by group size and booking type, but most customers can begin with a per-person planning estimate.
By Miami Finder editors Last updated: August 18, 2026
Methodology: The broad price ranges below come from escape-room operators’ published guidance, not an independent national pricing survey. Venue examples were checked against first-party operator pages and should be confirmed through live booking systems before purchase.
The short answer: budget about $25–$40 per person
For a standard U.S. escape room, $25–$40 per person is a practical starting budget. This is a planning range drawn from escape-room operators’ published estimates, not a statistically verified national average. Breakout Games, for example, estimates a typical cost of $28–$38 per person, with the exact price varying by location, schedule, and group size (see Breakout Games’ cost guide).
Some operator guides use a broader range of approximately $20–$50 per person. Longer, more elaborate, premium, or high-demand experiences can exceed $50, but the available evidence does not establish a standard premium surcharge or reliable nationwide ceiling (see FLEE Escape’s pricing overview).
Using the narrower planning range, a four-person group might begin with a rough base budget of $100–$160, while an eight-person group might start around $200–$320. Those are arithmetic estimates before taxes, booking fees, minimum-spend adjustments, and optional event services. A deposit may affect the amount due upfront, but it is not necessarily an extra charge on top of the final booking price.
The advertised per-player rate is therefore only one part of the answer. Your actual cost depends on:
- the venue and room;
- the date and time;
- the number of players;
- whether the operator uses fixed or tiered pricing;
- minimum paid-player rules;
- whether the booking is private;
- the game’s length or experience tier;
- mandatory taxes and fees; and
- party, corporate, or other optional services.
Avoid treating the often-repeated figure of approximately $36 per person as a definitive national average. The supplied operator sources do not provide a representative national sample or transparent methodology for that figure. It is safer to use $25–$40 as an initial budget, then obtain a live quote for the exact room, party size, date, and time you want.
Escape-room cost by group size
The simplest way to estimate a conventional per-player booking is:
Base cost = number of players × current per-player rate
The following table applies the operator-published $25–$40 planning range to parties of two through eight. These figures are arithmetic estimates rather than quoted venue prices (compare Breakout Games’ published range).
Planning estimates only: Every total below is a base estimate before taxes, booking fees, minimum-spend adjustments, and optional extras.
| Number of players | At $25 per person | At $40 per person | Estimated base range |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | $50 | $80 | $50–$80 |
| 3 | $75 | $120 | $75–$120 |
| 4 | $100 | $160 | $100–$160 |
| 5 | $125 | $200 | $125–$200 |
| 6 | $150 | $240 | $150–$240 |
| 7 | $175 | $280 | $175–$280 |
| 8 | $200 | $320 | $200–$320 |
For a venue with a minimum paid-player requirement, use a more complete formula:
Estimated total = per-player rate × greater of actual players or required paid players + taxes + mandatory fees + selected extras
For example, suppose two people choose a room priced at $32 per player, but the operator requires payment for at least three players. The base estimate would be $96 rather than $64 because the booking must cover three tickets. Taxes, fees, and selected extras would then be added.
The formula changes under other pricing models:
- Flat room price: Pay the published room total instead of multiplying by attendance.
- Tiered per-person price: Find the bracket matching your party size, date, and time before multiplying.
- Package price: Use the total assigned to the applicable group-size range.
- Custom quote: Ask the venue to price the complete event, particularly when the group needs multiple rooms, meeting space, or additional staff.
Under ordinary per-person pricing, adding players commonly increases the group’s total even when the individual rate falls. Six people paying $36 each spend $216 collectively, while four people paying $40 each spend $160. The six-player group pays less per participant but more overall.
Package thresholds can produce different results, so always compare the full totals. If one person is organizing the booking, record both the amount each participant owes and the amount that will be charged at checkout.
Why couples can pay more per person
Some operators account for that through two-player premiums, tiered rates, or a minimum number of paid tickets.
Escape Room LA provides a clear local example. It lists two-player tickets at $64 each on weekdays and $72 each on weekends. Groups of six to nine are listed at $36 each on weekdays and $44 each on weekends (review Escape Room LA’s booking prices).
The resulting base totals show the difference between individual and collective cost:
| Booking | Per-player price | Base group total |
|---|---|---|
| 2 players, weekday | $64 | $128 |
| 2 players, weekend | $72 | $144 |
| 6 players, weekday | $36 | $216 |
| 6 players, weekend | $44 | $264 |
The larger party pays more overall, but each participant pays less. A couple therefore should not assume that the lowest rate displayed on a venue’s page applies to a two-person reservation.
A minimum-ticket system can create a similar result without an explicitly higher two-player rate. In a historical example published in 2018, Green Light Escape Room allowed couples to play privately in certain rooms but required them to purchase at least three tickets. The third ticket could remain unused; it was the minimum purchase needed to reserve the room (read Green Light’s explanation of its minimum-ticket model).
Because that example is historical, it illustrates a booking model rather than a current Green Light policy. Before reserving a date-night escape room, check:
- whether two-player bookings are permitted;
- whether the room has a two-player premium;
- how many tickets must be purchased;
- whether the booking is private;
- the room’s minimum and maximum capacity; and
- whether the operator recommends the room for such a small team.
It can be useful to compare the two-player total with the cost of inviting one or two friends. Do not add people solely because a lower rate appears beside a larger group bracket, however. The total bill may still increase, and an additional participant makes sense only if that person wants to attend and the room can accommodate them.
How escape rooms charge: per person, per room, or by minimum booking
“Private room” and “flat room price” do not mean the same thing. Private describes who will play: unrelated customers will not be added to your session. It does not reveal whether the operator charges per person, by group-size tier, through a package, or at a flat rate.
| Pricing model | How it works | What to verify | Effect on your estimate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fixed per-person pricing | Every player pays the same published rate. | Minimum players, capacity, taxes, and whether privacy is included. | Multiply the player count by the ticket price. |
| Tiered per-person pricing | The individual rate changes with party size, day, or time. | Your exact bracket and whether two-player premiums apply. | A larger party may pay less per person while spending more overall. |
| Flat or package pricing | One total covers a room or defined party-size range. | Maximum included attendance and charges for additional guests. | Adding players within the included range may lower the effective cost per person. |
| Minimum-ticket or minimum-spend booking | The party must buy a specified number of tickets or reach a minimum total. | Whether paid places can remain unused and what purchase activates privacy. | Small parties may pay for more places than they use. |
Most of the venue examples in this guide use some form of per-player pricing, but that model is not universal. Think in a Box, for example, publishes group totals that include $120 for four players and $160 for six through eight players (see Think in a Box’s group-pricing examples).
Privacy can also be handled in several ways:
- included automatically with regular admission;
- activated when the party meets a minimum paid-player count;
- provided only after every remaining seat is purchased;
- sold as a separate upgrade; or
- included in a flat private-room package.
Breakout Games says its rooms are private regardless of group size while still charging private bookings per person. It uses custom package quotes for larger corporate groups rather than publishing a single universal large-group rate.
NM Escape Room and Escape Room LA also state that their cited bookings are private. Treasure Valley Escape Rooms says its bookings are private at no additional charge, although minimum group sizes differ by room.
If a venue advertises a “private experience,” ask what activates that privacy. Two ordinary tickets may be enough, or the booking might require three or four paid places. Conversely, a public session may let a couple buy two seats while leaving the remaining places available to other customers.
Do not assume a large party will automatically receive a lower per-player rate: exceeding one room’s capacity can increase the cost if another room becomes necessary.
What changes the price
Two escape rooms that look similar in search results can produce very different checkout totals. The main variables are:
- City and local demand. Published prices can differ among markets and even among locations belonging to one operator.
- Weekday versus weekend. Some venues list higher weekend rates, but the practice is not universal.
- Peak versus off-peak time. High-demand slots may be priced differently from slower periods.
- Party size. Operators may use fixed rates, volume tiers, two-player premiums, or minimum paid-player counts.
-
Pricing model. A package and a per-player booking can create different totals for the same attendance.
-
Experience tier. More elaborate or premium productions may cost more, although the evidence does not establish a standard surcharge.
- Private-booking terms. Privacy may be included, tied to a minimum purchase, or sold separately.
- Optional event services. Catering, meeting space, decorations, party rooms, staff, and multi-room coordination may increase the total.
NM Escape Room illustrates a straightforward day-based difference: it publishes $32 per participant Monday through Thursday and $35 Friday through Sunday, with a two-participant minimum and private sessions (check NM Escape Room’s published pricing).
Escape Room LA demonstrates how day and party size can interact. Its listed rates for groups of two to nine span $36–$64 per person on weekdays and $44–$72 on weekends. The lowest displayed rate applies to a larger weekday party, while the highest applies to a two-person weekend booking. Those figures describe one operator, not Los Angeles as a whole.
Geography can matter even within one company. The Basement publishes different starting adult prices for Los Angeles, Las Vegas, and Kansas City, with cited examples ranging from $36 to $54 per person depending on location and day (see The Basement’s location-specific starting prices). This does not establish that one city is generally cheaper than another; it shows only that a multi-location operator may set different prices in different markets.
Duration and experience tier can also change the comparison. Labyrinth Escape Games lists a 60-minute Classic room from $38.99 per adult and a 75-minute Epic room from $49.99 per adult. Both figures are starting rates rather than guaranteed final quotes (review Labyrinth’s tiers and starting prices).
When comparing venues, match like with like. A $39 ticket for 60 minutes is not directly equivalent to a $50 ticket for 75 minutes, particularly if one includes private play and the other does not. Compare the full party total, duration, privacy terms, minimum purchase, and mandatory charges—not merely the first number shown in a search result.
These operator examples demonstrate pricing mechanisms. They should not be treated as average prices for Albuquerque, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Kansas City, Boise, Nampa, Seattle, or the United States.
Published price examples—and what they do and do not prove
The following comparison collects several venue-specific published examples. It is useful for seeing how real pricing structures differ, but it is not a representative survey of the listed cities or the country.
| Venue and location | Published rate | Day or group conditions | Room duration when known | Private booking? | Important exclusions or qualifications |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NM Escape Room, Albuquerque | $32 or $35 per participant | $32 Monday–Thursday; $35 Friday–Sunday; two-player minimum | Not established by the pricing example | Yes | Page does not say whether taxes or other fees are included |
| Cognition Escapes, Seattle | Typically starts at $38+ per person | May vary with group size, discounts, and promotions | 60 minutes | Not established by the cited pricing text | “$38+” is a starting point, not a fixed final total |
| Escape Room LA, Los Angeles | $40 for 3–5 players; $36 for 6–9 | Weekday rates; two players pay $64 each | Not stated in the cited pricing example | Yes | Taxes and other possible charges are not specified |
| Escape Room LA, Los Angeles | $48 for 3–5 players; $44 for 6–9 | Weekend rates; two players pay $72 each | Not stated in the cited pricing example | Yes | Taxes and other possible charges are not specified |
| Labyrinth Escape Games, Boise and Nampa | Classic from $38.99 per adult; Epic from $49.99 | Both are starting rates | 60 minutes for Classic; 75 minutes for Epic | Yes | Tax excluded; booking fee applies |
For four adults, the Labyrinth starting-rate arithmetic is:
- Classic: 4 × $38.99 = $155.96
- Epic: 4 × $49.99 = $199.96
Both totals are before tax and the booking fee. They assume four adult tickets at the displayed starting rates; the live checkout amount may differ.
The spread among these examples does not prove that one market is categorically more expensive than another. The venues use different group rules, durations, experience tiers, schedules, and inclusions. A two-player premium at one Los Angeles venue should not be compared with a four-player starting rate elsewhere as though the products and booking conditions were identical.
Price freshness is another limitation. Several operator pages do not show a clear price-effective date, and starting rates can change. Use published examples to understand the likely structure, then obtain a current quote through the venue’s live booking page.
What the ticket covers—and how much time to allow
Labyrinth provides one bounded example: it says its listed admission includes a private room, themed sets and puzzles, and game-master support. Its starting prices exclude tax, and a booking fee applies.
Admission may not include:
- food or drinks;
- a birthday or meeting room;
- decorations;
- catering;
- photographs or merchandise;
- event coordination;
- extra gameplay;
- parking or transportation; or
- flexible cancellation and rescheduling.
The cited standard games commonly provide about 45–60 minutes of gameplay. Cognition Escapes describes a 60-minute session, while The Basement says players spend 45 minutes inside its game.
The game clock is not necessarily the total time required for the outing. Allow time for arrival, waiver completion, check-in, instructions, gameplay, and any post-game debrief or photographs. The Basement estimates approximately 90 minutes total on-site for its 45-minute experience, including check-in and briefing (review The Basement’s gameplay and on-site timing).
That 90-minute estimate is specific to one operator, not an industry-wide duration. Avoid placing a rigid meal reservation, show, or departure immediately after the advertised game time. Check the venue’s requested arrival time and ask how long guests typically remain on-site.
Duration also matters when comparing value. If one room costs about $39 for 60 minutes and another starts near $50 for 75 minutes, consider gameplay length, experience tier, privacy, party-size rules, and mandatory charges together. A longer game is not automatically the better choice, but its additional time is part of the comparison.
If an escape room is one indoor anchor in a weather-flexible Miami itinerary, a Miami rainy-day discovery plan can help organize the rest of the day without relying on a rigid schedule.
How to estimate the final total and spend less
The safest way to avoid surprise charges is to build your estimate from the venue’s current booking screen rather than relying on an old article, search snippet, or general pricing guide.
Use this pre-booking checklist:
- [ ] Confirm the live per-player, package, or room rate.
- [ ] Enter the exact date and time.
- [ ] Select the specific room or experience tier.
- [ ] Confirm the minimum number of paid players.
- [ ] Check the room’s minimum and maximum capacity.
- [ ] Determine whether the session is private or public.
- [ ] Ask whether privacy requires a fee or minimum purchase.
- [ ] Identify taxes, booking fees, service charges, and deposits.
- [ ] Determine whether a deposit is credited toward the final total.
- [ ] Add only the event extras you want.
- [ ] Review cancellation and refund terms.
- [ ] Check rescheduling deadlines and charges.
- [ ] Verify the final checkout total before authorizing payment.
Start with the live base rate
Advertised rates may be labeled “starting at.” The lowest number might apply only to a particular room, age group, party size, day, or schedule. Enter your actual booking details before comparing venues.
For per-player pricing, calculate:
Live rate × greater of actual players or required paid players
For a package, use the total for your party-size bracket. For a flat room rate, use the room total and confirm how many guests it includes. If the operator provides only custom quotes, request an itemized event total rather than estimating from its standard ticket page.
Add mandatory charges
Check whether the displayed price includes tax and any booking or service fee. Labyrinth, for example, explicitly says its starting rates exclude tax and that a booking fee applies.
Treat deposits carefully. Its financial significance depends on whether it is refundable, transferable, credited toward the booking, or forfeited after a deadline. Do not automatically add a credited deposit to the quoted event total a second time.
Price event extras separately
A standard escape-room ticket is different from a birthday or corporate package. Optional services can include:
- catering;
- private meeting or party space;
- decorations;
- a dedicated host or additional event staff;
- reserved time before or after the game;
- multiple rooms;
- staggered team starts; and
- corporate facilitation.
Ask whether each item is included in the quote or billed separately. “Private event” does not necessarily include food, meeting space, or exclusive use of the entire venue.
Read change policies before paying
Cancellation and rescheduling rules can change the effective cost of an outing. NM Escape Room states that purchases are nonrefundable. It separately says a $25 late-rescheduling fee may apply under its stated timing conditions.
Escape Room LA also says bookings are nonrefundable. Its published terms allow rescheduling with sufficient notice but list a $25 rebooking fee per game for 24–48 hours’ notice and $50 per game within 24 hours.
These are venue-specific policies, not industry standards. Other operators may offer credits, set different deadlines, or permit no changes. Event organizers should review the terms carefully because an absent participant may not reduce the amount due after the reservation is finalized.
Compare equivalent bookings
When looking for a lower price, compare:
- the same room or experience tier;
- the same number of players;
- the same privacy status;
- similar dates and times;
- approximately the same duration; and
- the total after mandatory charges.
A weekday may be cheaper at one venue, but not every operator discounts weekdays. Compare live weekday and weekend checkout totals instead of assuming a discount exists.
You can also check:
- larger-party pricing tiers;
- flat group packages;
- eligible child rates;
- military, first-responder, student, or other service discounts;
- newsletters;
- current promotions;
- repeat-player offers; and
- custom quotes for large groups.
Every discount has venue-specific eligibility, availability, and terms. A promotion mentioned in an article may have expired, and a lower child rate may apply only below a stated age.
Be careful with group-size discounts. Adding players to reach a lower per-person bracket can still increase the group’s total. Compare the complete booking totals, not just the individual ticket prices.
Use this decision sequence:
- Calculate the base total for the real party size.
- Apply the venue’s minimum paid-player or minimum-spend rule.
- Add mandatory taxes and fees.
- Account correctly for any deposit.
- Add only the extras your group wants.
- Review refund, cancellation, and rescheduling terms.
- Verify the final checkout total before paying.
For most standard rooms, $25–$40 per person remains a useful starting budget, but party size and booking rules can move the actual total substantially. Price the complete group outing, confirm minimum-player and privacy terms, and rely on the live checkout amount rather than the headline ticket rate.
What is the average cost of an escape room per person?
Use approximately $25–$40 per person as a planning estimate for a standard U.S. escape room. Some operator guidance gives a broader range of about $20–$50 per person, but neither range is an independently verified national average (see the operator-published broader estimate).
How much does an escape room cost for two people?
At the general $25–$40 planning rate, the arithmetic base estimate is $50–$80 before taxes and fees (compare another operator’s published $25–$50 guidance). A two-player premium or minimum-ticket rule can make the actual total substantially higher.
Are escape rooms cheaper on weekdays or with a larger group?
Sometimes. Certain venues publish lower weekday or larger-party rates, while others use fixed ticket prices, package totals, or flat room pricing. A lower individual rate does not necessarily mean a lower group total.
Does the ticket price include a private room, taxes, and booking fees?
Not necessarily. Privacy may be included, tied to a minimum purchase, or sold separately. Taxes and booking fees may also be excluded, so review the complete booking summary before paying.
How long does an escape-room experience take?
The cited standard games provide approximately 45–60 minutes of gameplay. The full visit is longer because of arrival, check-in, instructions, and post-game activity. As one operator-specific example, The Basement estimates about 90 minutes on-site for its 45-minute game; confirm the expected total visit length with your chosen venue.